Whipped Sugar Scrub with Cocoa Butter

I’ve been wearing my mad scientist hat all weekend. When I wear my mad scientist hat I’m transformed into an absolutely mad Kitchen Chemist, ready to try anything. Well, almost :).
This past weekend, I made some of my usual recipes like my best-selling Chocolate soap and Cocoa Body Butter. This morning however, I am finishing a beautiful, new and improved version of my whipped sugar scrub.

I make ‘buttery’ scrubs using Shea Butter most of the time but I’ve realized that since Cocoa Butter is not quite as thick and heavy as Shea Butter, it makes a ‘fluffier’ scrub which I absolutely adore. Don’t get me wrong, Shea makes an incredible scrub as well which gives a more intensive moisturizing action. For this reason I recommend my Shea Butter based scrubs for aging skin. Anyway! Back to the point! The new and improved Cocoa Butter scrub!

I incorporated some emulsifying wax into the formula and what e-wax does is that it allows the oil and water to form a ‘bond’ therefore allowing the product to wash off easier than if it were made with oil or butters alone. Although the product washes off it leaves the skin soft and moisturized afterwards.

Would you like to try your own simple whipped scrub?
Here’s a guide! I’ll put down a simple recipe in percentages so that you are free to use your preferred units of measurement. Also, in the spirit of being creative, I have suggested various ingredients which you can use according to your individual taste (or vision).

At least 50% Butters (Cocoa Butter, Shea Butter, Mango Butter, any of your favourites)
20 – 50% Liquid Oils (Olive, Coconut, Jojoba, Rice bran, Rose hip, any favorites? leave a comment! :)
10% E-wax
A few drops of your favorite Essential oil or fragrance

Make sure you know enough about Essential Oils and fragrances before you try to use them. For 100g of product you will need only a few drops of Essential Oil or fragrance.

Melt your butters together with your e-wax and oils, whip them all together with a hand mixer and then cool them before whipping again to get a beautiful fluffy look like this:

After you whip, add some sugar to the mix:

Mix with a spoon till the sugar is evenly dispersed throughout:

Voila! A beautiful whipped sugar scrub :) Here are my filled containers:

Keep the scrubs in a cool, dry place. Too much heat will make them go flat.

Till next time, have a BEAUTY-FULL day! :D

6 thoughts on “Whipped Sugar Scrub with Cocoa Butter

Leave a Reply

